Mr. Submarine

Season: Summer 2019

Location: Pensacola, FL

Picture

Since my life has not been flavorful enough, and I struck out with so many military guys in a row, 7 or so, as if I were counting… I plunged into a more devious dating pool.

In the 370+ blog posts of Dates and Cakes history, I’ve certainly met my fair share of physically-driven men that, to put it bluntly, only care about one thing. My intelligence of course LOL …not likely. 

So, I decided to change my mind-frame for a little and entertained the world of shallow pursuit. I was exhausted from hoping a guy would live up to his intentions, and was ready for something a little more black and white.

You are who you say you are.
You’re just in it for sex? Awesome. At least it’s in the open. Please don’t make me a part of any more games;

  • my Battleship has sunk
  • the Land of Candy isn’t sweet
  • I’m tired of Guess Who’s going to be the next winter break my heart or waste my time. 


Which may be worse…. because we know all too well I typically don’t give out my heart- that’s child’s play. 

I downloaded a sugar daddy app. GASP! I’ve read other blogs and heard tales of girls that match with older men just wanting a companion. Someone to take to dinner, someone to talk to. I could talk to a wall. Actually I may or may not have had a pretty in-depth conversation about the Russian War with a wall once.

Picture

 Any who… I uploaded a few pictures and words about myself, like any other dating app and watched the colorful requests file in. I knew it wasn’t for me like escargot, but you have to just try it once, right?It was time to embark on this different app, since none of my prior guy interactions have really gone off without a “hinge.” The very first guy I began conversing with was older, experienced in years, divorced with a couple of kids, and of course (when trying to entice a girl like me) a world traveler.  He was a blue-eyed middle-aged gentleman I’ll refer to as Mr. Submarine. 

No. He was not into The Beatles.

Picture

The very first guy actually older than he posted, but wasn’t in the slightest bit creepy. He was genuinely impressed of the depth of our conversation. We dined at a prestigious place on the water, on the edge of downtown called Atlas. A title most suiting for a traveler such as myself.

My palate for whiskey seemed to impress him as the conversation carried over quiet roar of the slinging of bottles and clattering of plates. It was if it were any ole date; we laughed, we flirted, and we drank. He had gauged a level of trust in our meeting in he revealed his true intentions….. can you guess by his name?

Mr.
Sub

He was seeking a loyal sub, to enlighten their world.  I kindly declined and tried with all my might to play it off, when internally I was sweating, struggling, and stressing beyond that of a student prepping for the lsats. 

Picture

 I survived the remaining minutes of the date, hugged him goodbye, and retreated to the side of my blonde best friend. Nothing like Elle Woods, but like any true friend, found humor in my flavor of the week.

How my Catholic-school-reared rear thought I could possibly dabble in this world is Greek to me! The dessert most suiting for my only sugar daddy date is: ypovrichio or “submarine sweets.” 

Picture

Ipovrichio – Submarine

Vanilla flavor:

480gr granulated sugar
250gr water
1Tbsp corn syrup
1Tbsp lemon juice
vanilla flavoring

Combine the sugar, syrup, and water in a medium saucepan over medium heat, stirring
occasionally with a wooden spoon until the sugar dissolves, and cover the pan for 5 minutes to allow the sugar to wash down the sides. Uncover the pan, add lemon juice and vanilla to taste, and clip a candy thermometer to the inside of the pan (being certain that the tip of the thermometer doesn’t touch the bottom of the pan ); cook the mixture to 115 C degrees. Total cooking time for the batch falls between 20 and 25 minutes.
 Remove the pan from the heat and pour the contents into a heat proof bowl.
Let fondant cool down at room temperature to 40C. 
  Then place the fondant mixture in a bowl and work with a wooden spatula until it becomes opaque,  
or 
 place the fondant mixture in your mixer bowl and, with the hook attachment, let it mix until opaque.
You can store it in a glass or plastic storage container at room temperature for six to eight months.
Serve a teaspoonful of ”submarine” in a glass full of ice cold water.

http://cookmegreek.blogspot.com/2013/06/fondant-la-grec-delicious-sugar.html?m=1

2 thoughts on “Mr. Submarine

Leave a comment