The Complicated Question

Location: Pensacola, FL

Season: Spring 2019

Everyone new I meet asks the ever-popular, “so, where are you from?”


And to each of those any inquiries I respond, “Well…. that’s a complicated question.”


As soon as I reveal my last three pin points on the map, 90% of them respond with, “oh are you military?”

Picture

Have you seen my beer and chocolate fueled body? That’s a negative Ghost Rider. Anyone that knows me would scoff in the same manner. With that being said, in relation to my dating, it’s inevitable that I’m going to run into some military guys. With the reputation that only 3 have lived to contradict, I strive to avoid military guys at all cost.

​ This particular Friday night, I not only failed that task, but I became instrumental in a demonstration for one of their sergeant or lieutenants or whatever AND all his men. I really mean no disrespect to military men and women that protect our liberties for this phenomenal country. It’s my favorite country 6 days of the week. ‘Merica.

Picture

So this particular Guy starts buying the shots that he was already drinking. A Kamikaze which I don’t think I’ve had since College at this rave Club we used to frequent in Arlington, Texas…. it is until it got shut down for drugs and selling liquor to minors. It was great because I’ll never forget one of the conversations my best friend I overheard in the bathroom one night:

“Staci, I think I need to stop smoking so I can save up for a new fake ID. This one starting to bend.”

Pri-or-it-ies.

Anyway, back to this Friday night with mr. Hardback kamikaze. He continued to buy me shots and make small talk. I could see his friends or mates or whatever you call them watching intently. Some of them were Suave about it, others not so much.

“If you’re trying to show off for your buddies, I’m definitely not the girl to do that.”

“No, I genuinely enjoy talking to you,” he replied with a smile.

” I’m not going to go home with you,” I said plainly with no remorse if that deterred him from retrieving my Snapchat or phone number.

” Stephanie, I just like you.”

Knowing it’s physically impossible to like someone that you don’t know anything about, I rolled my eyes and return to the dance floor. From what I can remember, he kept up, but I’ll be honest…. the end of the night was a little hazy.

He did retrieve my Snapchat and we conversed a little, but nothing seemed to really come of it.

Then, there was this night I was walking on the beach alone and he messaged me.

Picture

I know we are thinking… she going to hurry this up? I got a pizza that’ll be here any minute . She goes to the beach a lot. Is she not aware that Pensacola has a very high sex trafficking rate? Is she crazy? Okay my lovely readers, (more than one accounts as plural; thanks Mom and Lauren) as you’ve learned, I’m notorious for joining double dates with my best friend. Well on this occasion, I was just a third wheel why we were at a bar on the water, adventure outside and walk the shore of the strip of bars in Gulf Breeze. The soft sand and lively water we’re perfect for the night.

W
hile enjoying the serenity, I began receiving quick responses from Mr. Hardback Kamikaze. His name apparent because of the type of drink he bought us when I met him, but the second part of his name comes from the conversation we had this night.

I natually said something punny, because that’s just how my brain works, and we began talking about writing and how I’ve got a Blog.

Instantly, he asked for the address and I relinquished it without reservations because I knew he didn’t have a post.


As you can probably guess, it hardly ever goes well when a guy I’ve written about finds his post. I mean maybe they shouldn’t be so shitty or shady or needy or what have you. Whatever actions they made to evoke a written post about it, is the whole reason I do this. This blog is not only for me to vent and to be able to cope with horrible dates and sometimes loneliness, but it’s also to give the people that do stumble upon this blog hope that they’re not the only ones going through this and perseverance is key. With the 222+ dates I’ve been on, if I can do it oh, you can do it! I’m not saying you have to. I’ve definitely slowed it down since traveling is much more of a priority than finding someone to lend my heart to, knowing it will be returned in a condition other than how it was lent.

I’m sure I wouldn’t like the posts of THEIR side of the story from each of these dates. But quite frankly, I wouldn’t care to read it even if it was out there. There’s a reason they’re in the past.
Okay…. I’m gonna have to call BS on myself. If they did write about me, my curiosity would be nibbling at my restraint until it gave way. There’s only one that’s written about me and he is a story for another day.

Before thumbing through my most recent posts oh, he asked me who my favorite writers were and then revealed Fitzgerald was his. More than impressed, I kind of let my guard down. Wow this boy has depth I thought. Then, he proceeded to compliment my writing:
\n“I’ve only read one piece and I’m already diving down the rabbit holeAnd lord if I didn’t like you before…”
\n“You should Bc it’s 10x better than anything I’ve written; you put so much of your heart into your writing and it shows. Not obnoxiously but subtle enough that it makes an impact.”
\n

Kamikaze Cake: for a cover you can’t judge

Picture

Cake Ingredients

  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/3 cup non-fat dry milk powder
  • 3.4 ounce package instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 5 large egg whites
  • 3/4 cups canola oil
  • 7 Tablespoons absolute vodka
  • 7 Tablespoons blue curacao
  • 7 Tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 2 Tablespoons water
  • sky blue food coloring gel

Glaze Ingredients

  • 1 cup powdered sugar lightly packed
  • 1 Tablespoon absolute vodka
  • 1 Tablespoon blue curacao
  • 1 Tablespoon fresh lime juice

Instructions
For the Cake

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a bundt pan with cooking spray (for baking). Set aside.
  • Whisk together dry ingredients.
  • Add liquid ingredients, and beat together with a mixer.
  • Add blue gel food coloring. I do not have an exact amount, I scoop some out of the jar with a toothpick and swirl the toothpick in the batter to remove. If the color is not correct, add more.
  • Beat for an additional 1 – 2 minutes until smooth and well blended.
  • Pour into prepared pan and and tap on the floor or counter to remove air bubbles. Bake for 55 – 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  • Remove from oven and allow to cool in the pan for 10 minutes.
  • Remove from pan by placing a wire cooling rack over the cake and flipping the pan upside down.

For the Glaze:

  • Pour powdered sugar into a small bowl.
  • Add liquids, and whisk together until smooth.
  • Add gel coloring and mix until you achieve your desired color.
  • Place cooking rack over a large dinner plate. Using a large spoon, pour the glaze over the top of the cake.
  • The glaze with run over the cake and collect on the plate. Move cake and rack to a second clean plate. Continue pouring the glaze over the cake, switching back and forth between plates, until all of the glaze is now on the cake.
  • Allow to cool completely, for at least 12 hrs

    ​https://cookingwithcurls.com/2013/04/15/blue-kamikaze-cocktail-cake-happy-cassi-day-2/#wprm-recipe-container-81233

Leave a comment