If you didn’t want it, why’d you put a ring on it?

Season: Summer 2019

Location: All-over-the-country

Picture

There’s an obscene number of married guys that have hit me up both online and in person. My initial reaction was “what kind of girl do you think I am?” But then, I was overcome with grief and disgust of the type of man they are…. and his wife probably doesn’t know the degree of his questionable character.

Picture

The amount of emotional havoc a person inflicts on their partner is colossal. I wish they would be reminded of that before they cheat….

A wedding is the ideal place to reflect on your current relationship, or lack of one. The best part is, this reflection is usually 100% unintentional and subconsciously sneaks in. This was certainly the case at the 3rd wedding I’ve been to this year, also being in Texas (first in Fort Worth, second Dallas, and third Austin).

Picture

This realization of my singleness, was overcast by disappointment in the overwhelming number of disloyal people. We’ve all had someone we were committed to step out on us with someone else (I’m certain) but, the emotional cheating and constant lusting toward new faces is uncanny. At this beautiful wedding in hill country that my sister and I attended, was gushing with married or taken guys that continued to gravitate their eyes toward us. I’m not talking just a gentle smile or quick glance, I’m talking full-on stare! My sister pointed two out to me, as I pointed out another to her. Rings fastened on their left hand couldn’t fasten their eyes to the person with the matching metal.

I know there’s a couple ways this could be interpreted:

  • t​his could make my sister and I seem very vain to think married guys are again at our chest and advert their eyes guiltily when we look up.
  • this could seem we are attention-starved or some variant of that.
  • this could be a factual, unfortunate occurrence spreading in the newly married society that reinforces cop-out statements like:
Picture
Picture

I don’t think it’s “Disney of me” to believe a man can be faithful or a woman can be faitful if they are in love and down-right committed. My heart of hearts believes if you love someone, truly love someone, it’s almost as if the other sex becomes less inticing. Sure, six-pack abs are alluring and guys’ or even girls’ eyes may wander to a pair of double-d’s but, their heart and attention belongs to their person in this crummy little world.

Although I have quite the dating record and I’ve earned the reputation of being a bit of a player, once love is on the table, there’s no room for any other games or players. Put the CandyLand away.

The last, and only time I’ve been in love, was to a man I couldn’t have even fantasized of being with someone else. I was so taken with him and was prepared to give up everything for him– hell, I practically did! I know loyalty wasn’t even a question with him, nor was it for me. And I know I have a tendency to be quite naive, but it’s the God’s honest truth. Tat’s why it’s so heartbreaking to see these guys in committed relationships looking for more. The point of being in love, is to look no further.

So get off your lustful ass and find your one and only and stop trying to have your cake and eat it too!

Find Your Cherry On Top….. and if you’re married, you should’ve already found em

Picture

2 cans Crescent Rolls
8 oz softened Cream Cheese
21 oz Cherry Pie Filling
1/2 cup Sugar
1 tsp Vanilla
1 cup Powdered Sugar
1 tbsp Milk

​Preheat oven to 350.
Beat creamy cheese with sugar and vanilla until fluffy.
Unroll crescent dough and separate.
On a pizza pan place triangles overlapping with long pointed ends outward. So that there is about a 6″ circle left in the middle of the pan.
Spread cherries over the lapped dough area.
Spread dollops of cream cheese mixture over the cherry filling.
Fold pointed ends of crescents over the filling and pinch into lapped dough to seal.
Bake for 18-20 minutes or until golden brown.
Mix Powdered sugar and milk until smooth glaze forms.
Drizzle glaze over left-finger dazzling ring.

Leave a comment