Underdog Dating Contender

Season: Winter 2019

Location: over the seas of Ireland

Picture

I’m just gonna date girls

I’m gonna die alone.

Who needs a man?

I might as well date myself.

​Oooo this outfit is so cute; I’d date me.

It’s just gonna be me and 27 dogs.

The idea that you date yourself is plastered on t-shirts, painted on fb walls, and slurred in bathroom stalls, but is usually just that.

​After nearly 200 dates in the last 2 and a half years, one would think I would’ve adopted this mentality months ago, but I’m a sucker for blue eyes and flirty conversations. Hugs are one of my favorite things on the planet, so personal, physical touch is a need of mine. Getting close to someone is something that keeps drawing me back in. The ironic thing is, when I am locked down, anxiety swelters me and I run.

This dating yourself idea has been plastered on t-shirts, painted on FB walls, and scribbled about in books and blogs. I never considered it as a real thing until I broke the barrier of the states for 2 months time. Now that I’ve set foot into Dublin, Ireland (for the second time in one year), I decided to give it a whirl. Let’s see how this goes….

Slainte!!

Picture
When we normalize self doubt, we are able to view our emotional reaction as part of a larger process, instead of assuming we’re making a mistake.” -Ana Mcrea

Editing note here: I searched high and low to get a clearer version of this picture and apparently, the website has been deleted since I made this post…. irony? I think SO

Leave a comment