Drained Emotions

Picture

Why does your memory keep trickling back, like a faucet never fixed?
A couple of wrenches and elbow grease, but there’s something we missed.
I only hear it when my thoughts are silent– quite the dangerous state.
Spending time like my paycheck, you’re just another thing on my plate.

So I flood my media with images of enjoyment: hoping you’ll be watching
Wondering if you still find me pretty– the curiosity which there’s no stopping.
There’s a smirk like no other that resides when I see your name;
Amongst the many that have viewed– awakening my pulse from tame.
But words are never exchanged, your comments are never left.
How pathetic and disgusting; he never belonged to you, Steph.
But of all the belongings I’ve never had, he’s amongst the highest.
Even as a leaky faucet, he has left me the driest.

No reason why and don’t you dare say closure.
Of why we never made it to pillow talk and maybe a little closer.
But enough to tell strangers that I was your “better-half”
Claimed none before me had such a power to make you laugh.

But you moved away both literally and metaphorically.
Another rash, immature decision, but that’s a different story.
Renaming the city you relocated to, ashamed of its reputation.
Rationale for your newest model Kelsey, I was a similar situation.
You couldn’t allow a benevolent beauty to spoil your bad boy look.
But her vicious infidelity will make you miss me– just plain textbook.

By then I’ll be kilometers away from your boisterous stance and shallow charm.
A woman with equivalent passion and understanding- never again will be on your arm.
Pridefully, it flexes with dominant ink,
As your remains become just drops in my sink.

Plainly undistinguished and quickly dissolved,
You will remain more problems unsolved.
For I haven’t solution, but refuse to waste
Strategy on something with tap water taste.
Eventually you’re dripping will become just part of my soundtrack.
​About fierce independence and refusing to look back.

Leave a comment