Adventures of Madrid and Butterwall: Budapest Edition

Season: Winter 2019

Location: Budapest, Hungary

Picture

Finally, the the guy that I had to set up the pretense that I traveled 8 Days around the world with, his story is ready for human eyes.

Mr. Butterwall took quite the risk to use his airline voucher with a girl he met up drunk at a bar that pushed him up against the wall. I took a risk allowing him to accompany me and staying in the same private hostel with him seven nights in a row…. But hey! If I’ve already survived with guys from six different countries, what’s one more from my own country?

Got to risk it to get the biscuit and they don’t make buttermilk in Europe…..

Picture

So, after the run-in London, after the Barcelona bar crawls where I was both wasted and then completely sober, we embarked on a trip to Budapest, Hungary. We coordinated our flights and countries based on airfare and then after booking, we compiled research of where we wanted to go and where we should stay. We found a precious little market and a pub crawl with our name on it.

​Well, I’m sure you know from now that the pubcrawl is the best place to start. At the first place, I set my eyes on a beautiful blonde German with blue eyes. I know, I know. Hitler’s dream and my heart break nightmare. Yes, he was exactly who I thought he would be: A dude bro.

We were playing flip cup and his reaction to things were just deterring. I turned that off like a light switch and tried to encourage the taller, British girl to shy away from him. Of course, no, she didn’t listen to me and ended up making out with him later. I mean it’s your heart girl. I was just trying to look out.

While, she was canoodling with the dude bro, the other Brit introduced me to her to gay London friends. One was cuter than the other and their accents were luscious. They both told me how lovely London was; one of them was looking for a roommate if I decided to move.

“It’s not really that easy, but thank you,” I responded smiling.

Then there was a lovely punk rock Hungarian behind the bar who’s smile shot through my pelvis. He filled my beers to the brim every time I got one, but later I saw him picking at a scab and that was all over.

My American counterpart, Mr. Butterwall, was chatting it up with an American trio of girls studying in Barcelona (small world after all).

Picture

We made it to the next bar for more shots.  Meanwhile, my New London friends were acting a damn fool and I was laughing along. 


When the American girl of interest walked my way, I sparked a conversation. We began talking about neighborhoods in Barcelona and how refreshing and vastly different it is from the states. Quickly, the conversation shifted into that of eye-candy. She inquired of Butterball and our relationship. Labeling it as strictly cordial, her eyes flared a deeper brown.


“So… he wants me to go back with him…..”


Leaning in and looking for my approval or advice, I smiled. “He really is a great guy. If you’re looking for a boyfriend, then you probably shouldn’t.”


“Oh I’m not looking for a boyfriend; I’m trying to figure out my life!” She responded.


“Then there’s no problem,” I winked.

Actually, I didn’t wink; I feel like that would have been super suave if I would have though.


Spending the rest of my night with the drunk Brits, and then a little time alone walking the streets in pursuit of street-meat, I soaked up Budapest at night. No, not a night fling for myself! A hot, spinning wheel in a window display of meat; gyros may have changed my life….for. eve. er. 


2 hours later, I returned to my room as they (Butterwall and the brown-eyed American) were descending the stairs to our third-floor hostel. Sheepishly smiling, we exchanged greetings in the hallway. I returned my room at the crisp strike of 3:48 a.m., only to find the whole room stunk of sex. Couldn’t even leave the window open, homes?


After spraying every body spray I had, practically busting down the window, and wafting  the door open and close, I was able to remedy the situation. What you do for some people. 

This tale calls for “Better Than Sex Bars.” The instructions for this treat is simple:

Picture

1. Buy her a drink (ohh ooo eeee)
2. Have a wing woman
3. Take full advantage of your private hostel

For the Crust:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) of unsalted butter, softened at room temperature
  • 1 cup of all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup finely minced, salted pecans

First Layer:

  • 1 (8 ounce) package of cream cheese, softened at room temperature
  • 1 cup of powdered sugar
  • 1 cup of Cool Whip (or homemade whipped cream)

Second Layer:

  • 2 (3.9 ounce) packages of instant chocolate pudding
  • 3 cups of whole milk

Topping:

  • 1-2 cups of Cool Whip (or homemade whipped cream)
  • Additional chopped pecans, for garnish, optional
  • Grated chocolate or Heath bits, for garnish, optional

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a bowl, mix together the flour, pecans and butter until mixture resembles cookie dough. Spread into the bottom of a 9 x 13 inch glass Pyrex baking dish. Bake at 350 degrees F for about 20 minutes or until lightly browned. The crust will appear underdone but will continue cooking in the pan, and will firm up as it cools, so don’t be tempted to keep cooking it. Cool completely, about an hour. If time permits, I like to chill each layer in the fridge before topping with the next.

Mix together the cream cheese and powdered sugar until well blended. Add 1 cup of the Cool Whip and mix together. Spread this layer over the cooled crust.

Mix together the two boxes of pudding with the 3 cups of milk until slightly thickened, about 3 minutes. Carefully spread over the cream cheese layer.

Spread the remaining cup of whipped topping on top. Cover and refrigerate at least 4 hours – best if refrigerated 24 hours. Before serving, grate chocolate over the top and sprinkle with additional chopped nuts. Cut into squares.
https://www.deepsouthdish.com/2011/03/chocolate-sin-better-than-sex-recipe-my.html

Leave a comment